A Midnight Dance with Neoheterandria elegans

Image
I wish I owned a camera nice enough to photograph these wonderful animals.  But due to incredibly tiny form….I have resorted to old files I swiped from Google search engine.

These are Neoheterandria elegans, or the tiger teddy as they are affectionately known.

I have been preparing for bed for the last hour or so.  But I stopped.  I stopped to…smell the roses if you will.  Mostly, I stopped to watch the fish.  I was taking mental tabs on a lot of my animals.  I own probably closer to 50 species, but it fluctuates month to month with auctions and acquisitions and losses.  What can be gathered from that is simply my great division of attention.  Each animal gets so little acknowledgement in the grand scheme of things.  It’s tragic, but being that I cannot live 50 lives and dedicate each to one species, I must make do.  So tonight, I took in the sight of something new.

On a whim, I poked in my tiny one gallon tiger teddy tank.  I had skimmed nearly everything else and saved these for last.  Admittedly, the small livebearers had been out competed by flashier cyprinids and rainbowfish as of late.  But tonight, I saved the last dance for them.  For that moment of undivided attention, I was rewarded with two fry calmly perusing the surface column of water.  I was mesmerized instantly.  A flood of questions- When did they arrive of this earth?  Should I move them?  Are the parents cannibalistic?  I quickly weighed the size of fry relative to the mouths of the adults.  When at last I convinced myself they were safe, I relaxed a bit.  I watched with great joy and my motherly heartstrings tugged with each breathtaking glimpse of their buggy eyes and slightly rounded bellies.  The itty bitty fins were enough to make me as giddy as a prepubescent with a crush.  This will always be my love.  This. 

Leave a Reply

