Every Morning is Christmas Morning

Image

Do you believe in the Christmas Crayfish???

I do.  🙂

Christmas is a fabulous joy when you’re young, and even as you age the promise of presents in some manner always entices the materialistic side of us all.  However, when I say that every morning is Christmas morning, I’m referring to the childish enthusiasm that can only be emulated by….well, a child.  Specifically, that moment when a child rips off the covers and runs downstairs to a tree alight with neatly wrapped packages.  This always occurs in the morning hours, when sleep can no longer satisfy the curiosity to know.  I’m not unlike that child.  Every morning, I have the option to indulge in this curiosity.  I can search for new spawn in my fish tanks. 

Okay, don’t run along just yet.  This is legit.  I have had many experiences where fish just spawn overnight….and then the present of many bundles of joy can be collected in the morning.  Perhaps the best example of this was when two days after Christmas (many years ago) I discovered 31 Gambusia affinis fry tucked in the floating plants of my display tank.  I scooped each fry out with gusto, and counted them as you would emerging puppies at birth.  It was a different time in my life, but that feeling can easily be replicated today when i have my 40 or so tanks to examine. 

Sometimes getting at the fry early is critical, so that’s where the rushing comes in.  I have had many sleepless nights where I simply couldn’t stop checking for fry.  I didn’t want to miss that moment when Santa Claus arrived!!  

Today, like every day, I face this potential.  I indulged, and flashed a light in the tanks one by one…noting spawning behavior or lack thereof.  I was weighing if the livebearing females seemed slimmer than earlier.  Maybe they popped?  who knows!  it’s always exciting.  And with the prospect of fry on the line, there is not a chance I could ever have a dull day!

Leave a Reply

