If Not for Critters

Image

That right there is love.  A new baby rodent to grace the world and in my palm.  That baby soft fur rat.  It’s a critter of mine.

And if not for those critters…..well, I probably wouldn’t be hungry today.

It’s such a counter intuitive move to spend money on animals when you need it to eat.  When you wouldn’t be broke if not for unnecessary “luxuries.”  A pet is supposed to be a luxury- only afforded truly by those who have more than enough for themselves in the bank.  I don’t.  I live paycheck to paycheck like a lot of people.  Only i really wouldn’t have to if I didn’t have these critters.

And the demands only mount.  I have….probably 11 lizards right now.  5 rodents.  2 axolotls.  Copious live feeder insects.  100+fish.  A cat who is more of a child to me.  Yet it always seems I’m on the lookout for the next cool species.  To breed and keep for my livelihood which neither activity supports. 

Today I realized that if not for critters, I’d be pretty well-off.  I’d have a savings account with money.  I wouldn’t get myself in a pinch like today where I’m eating the remnants of a packed lunch until I get home at 10 PM after 10 hours away.  But then….

What would I have to look forward to?

Most certainly not that little baby rat. 

And what would I spend my days doing?

Watching Netflix and studying dusty old books?

I can’t say I’d rather have anything else.  So leftover halloween candy it is…..to persist.  Til the next paycheck.  Which I will readily spend on my critters. 

Leave a Reply

