In Preparation for a New Year

As I have mused to many before, the new year means very little except that dating things gets a little screwy right off the bat.  I had a quarantine gig today where marking things 1/2/14 got to be more complicated because of how adjusted I had become to 2013.  But then, it’s those adjustments that need….readjusting.  Typically that comes in the form of resolutions spouted on public domains.  Statistics be damned; I intend to beat the 88% failure rate.  My resolutions….however….involve all of the prepping I have done up until now- busying my fish room and buying all of the supplies in bits and pieces.  Hoarding, almost, for this moment.  2014 shall be a year of fish glory.  I want to go for breeder of the year at my local fish club.  However 10 new spawns will suffice.  I want to write for aquarium publications like I used to…even in the event that nobody sees.  I’m gonna get that dwarf shrimp colony going for real this time, DAMMIT!

Such determination never fails.  Considering I have ordered more fish food than I have ever owned previously….flakes, granules, golden pearls.  I’m working with….50+ species.  And still watching those Aurelius barbs in quarantine very closely.  The hunt never ends, in all reality.  It’s an addiction I would never wish to quit.  As long as my work and vitality allows it.

Tiring out is quite common.  But there is a great prize on the horizon of the new year.  I know it is in me, and every day is an opportunity to prove it.  Exciting and tantalizing.

I’m almost drooling.

I did notice a request for what is going on in my tanks currently.  what I am toying with….

I had the misfortune to lose power for 4 days.  It caused me to restart much of my set ups.  It has been an immense stress, but thankfully the casualties were almost nonexistent since I’m employed by one of the more generous businesses in town.  The one with ample holding tanks and back up generators….yeah….

Anyways, my latest obsession has been danionins.  If you are unfamiliar…it is primarily danio, brachydanio, devario, and microrasbora fishes.  Right now I’m keeping a neat little selection of species….would like to dedicate a whole fish rack to rare and unusual danionins one day.

Because.

Why not?

For right now, I just have:

Danio choprae*

Danio margaritatus*

Danio aesculapii*

Danio feegradei

Danio tinwini

Danio kyathit

Danio sp. Hikari Yellow

Danio erythromicron*

The stars indicate which have successfully spawned for me so far.  I believe the Yoma danio (D. feegradei) will be the first to knock off that list of haven’t-bred’s……since i can visibly determine ripe females right now.

I’m also quite excited at the prospect of toying with a new white cloud species as yet unnamed….. goes by “neon yellow”!  beautiful fish but very subdued.

As for shrimp….I’m just working on carbon rili and yellows.  Maybe something new will come about.  The prospect of selective breeding with those inverts is very real as well…..

Besides the Aurelius, I’m hoping to obtain my first Denison barbs this year!  since petsmart has placed them on sale for $7….and i have a coupon for a few bucks off…I really can’t say no.  It does, however, require me prepping some of my larger tanks.

The possibilities are endless and keep my weary body moving.

Leave a Reply

